

Delimitation

Published On: 08-08-2024

With the general election over this year the topic of delimitation has gained momentum.

About:

Delimitation literally means the act or process of fixing limits or boundaries of territorial constituencies in a country to represent changes in population.

The Delimitation Commission is to work without any executive influence.

The Constitution mandates that the Commission's orders are final and cannot be questioned before any court as it would hold up an election indefinitely.

When the orders of the Delimitation Commission are laid before the Lok Sabha or State Legislative Assembly, they cannot effect any modification in the orders.

Why delimitation?

To provide equal representation to equal segments of a population.

Fair division of geographical areas so that one political party doesn't have an advantage over others in an election.

To follow the principle of "One Vote One Value".

Composition of the delimitation commission:

The Delimitation Commission is *appointed by the President of India* and *works in collaboration with the Election Commission of India*.

Retired Supreme Court judge

Chief Election Commissioner

Respective State Election Commissioners

What is the Process of Delimitation?

Under Article 82, the Parliament enacts a Delimitation Act after every Census.

Under Article 170, States also get divided into territorial constituencies as per Delimitation Act after every Census.

Once the Act is in force, the Union government sets up a Delimitation Commission.

The first delimitation exercise was carried out by the President (with the help of the Election Commission) in 1950-51.

Kamaraj IAS Academy

Plot A P.127, AF block, 6 th street, 11th Main Rd, Shanthi Colony, Anna Nagar, Chennai, Tamil Nadu 600040 Phone: 044 4353 9988 / 98403 94477 / Whatsapp : 09710729833

The Delimitation Commission Act was enacted in 1952.

Delimitation Commissions have been set up *four times* — *1952, 1963, 1973 and 2002* under the Acts of 1952, 1962, 1972 and 2002.

There was no delimitation after the 1981 and 1991 Censuses.

Seats have been frozen since 1971 to encourage population control, with the freeze extended until 2026 through the 84th Amendment Act.

Issues with Delimitation:

States that take little interest in population control could end up with a greater number of seats in Parliament. The southern states that promoted family planning faced the possibility of having their seats reduced.

"In 2002-08, Delimitation was done based on the 2001 census, but the total number of seats in the Assemblies and Parliament decided as per the 1971 Census was not changed".

The 87th Amendment Act of 2003 provided for the delimitation of constituencies on the basis of 2001 census and not 1991 census. However, this can be done without altering the number of seats allotted to each state in the Lok Sabha.

The Constitution has also capped the number of Lok Shaba & Rajya Sabha seats to a maximum of 550 & 250 respectively and increasing populations are being represented by a single representative.

First delimitation
 commission based on
 census 1951 data headed
 by Justice N
 Chandrasekhara Aiyar.

2. Fixed the Lok Sabha Seats at **494.**

- 1. Third Delimitation commiss census headed by Justice J
- Increased the seats of the L
 to 543 and assembly seats f
- 3.42nd amendment Act 1976 delimitation of constituence Lok Sabha and State Legisla until the 2001 Census of Inc encourage population contr states.



increase in seats till 20

Kamaraj IAS Academy

Plot A P.127, AF block, 6 th street, 11th Main Rd, Shanthi Colony, Anna Nagar, Chennai, Tamil Nadu 600040 Phone: 044 4353 9988 / 98403 94477 / Whatsapp : 09710729833