

## Dr. Shanker Dayal Sharma

## Published On: 20-08-2023

Why is in news? President of India Pays Homage to Dr Shanker Dayal Sharma on his Birth Anniversary

Shankar Dayal Sharma (1918 – 1999) was a member of Indian National Congress (INC).

Shankar Dayal Sharma (19 August 1918 – 26 December 1999) was an **Indian lawyer and politician** from the state of Madhya Pradesh **who served as the ninth president of India**, from 1992 to 1997.

He served as the **Chief Minister** (1952–1956) of Bhopal State.

He served as the **Cabinet Minister** (1956–1967), holding the portfolios of Education, Law, Public Works, Industry and Commerce, National Resources and Separate Revenue.

He again served as the Union Minister for Communications from 1974 to 1977.

He was appointed the governor of Andhra Pradesh in 1984.

After elections in Punjab, in the **wake of the Longowal-Rajiv accord** between the prime minister and the Akali Dal president, Sharma was made the governor of Punjab in 1985.

He then became the **eighth vice-president of India** and ex-officio Chairman of Rajya Sabha, serving from 1987 – 1992.

## Complete List Of Presidents Of India From 1950 T



Dr.Rajendra Prasad 1950 - 1962



Dr Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan 1962 - 1967



Hussain 1967 - 1969



Venkata Giri 1969 - 1974



Varahagiri Venkata Giri 1974 - 1977





Neelam Sanjiva Reddy 1977 - 1982

1982 - 1987



Venkataraman



Shankar Dayal

Sharma

1992 - 1997



Kocheril Raman Narayanan 1997 - 2002

Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam 2002 - 2007

2007-2012

**Pratibha Patil** 







Mukherjee

2012-2017











Shri Ram Nath Kovind 2017-2022



1987 - 1992

**Droupadi Murmu** Now Present 2022-

Kamaraj IAS Academy Plot A P.127, AF block, 6 th street, 11th Main Rd, Shanthi Colony, Anna Nagar, Chennai, Tamil Nadu 600040 Phone: 044 4353 9988 / 98403 94477 / Whatsapp : 09710729833