

## Heart Lamp glows, story collection wins the Booker prize for Banu and Deepa

Published On: 22-05-2025

## **Context**

- Kannada writer, lawyer, and activist BanMushtaq, 77, began writing about her people, their joys, sorrows and anxieties, over five decades ago.
- On Tuesday, **Heart Lamp, a collection of 12 short stories selected from her work written between 1990 and 2023 and translated by Deepa Bhasthi,** won the International Booker Prize for 2025 from a shortlist featuring books in French, Italian, Danish, and Japanese.
- It's a first win for Kannada, and the first time in the history of the prize that a collection of short stories has been honoured.
- The award for an Indian writer comes three years after Geetanjali Shree won the prestigious literary prize for Tomb of Sand, translated from Hindi by Daisy Rockwell.

## **Booker Prize**

- The Booker Prize was first awarded in **1969.** The inaugural Booker Prize was awarded to P.H. Newby for his novel "Something to Answer For".
- Founders: Tom Maschler and Graham C Greene.
- Until 2014, only novels written by Commonwealth, Irish, and South African citizens were eligible to receive the prize. Later, it was expanded to all nationalities.
- Important winners: 1st Indian origin winner VS Naipaul, 1st Indian citizen winner Arundhati Roy.

Plot A P.127, AF block, 6 th street, 11th Main Rd, Shanthi Colony, Anna Nagar, Chennai, Tamil Nadu 600040 Phone: **044 4353 9988 / 98403 94477** / Whatsapp : **09710729833** 

Year	Author	Work
1971	V.S. Naipaul	In a Free State
1981	Salman Rushdie	Midnight's Children
1997	Arundhati Roy	The God of Small Things
2006	Kiran Desai	The Inheritance of Loss
2008	Aravind Adiga	The White Tiger
2022	Geetanjali Shree	Tomb of Sand