

Ladakh gets new policies on quota, domicile status

Published On: 03-06-2025

Context

- Amid demands by Ladakhi civil society groups seeking "constitutional safeguards" for the region, the Centre on Tuesday notified new policies on reservation, languages, domiciles, and the composition of hill councils for Ladakh, which became a Union Territory in 2019.
- The notifications pave the way for 85% reservation for resident Ladakhis in government jobs. For other residents including children of Central government officials—to be considered "domiciles", they will have to show 15 years of continuous residence from October 31, 2019, Ladakh's foundation day.
- In a first, a third of the seats in hill councils have been reserved for women on a rotational basis. The official languages of the U.T. will be English, Hindi, Urdu, Bhoti, and Purgi.
- President Droupadi Murmu notified the Union Territory of **Ladakh Reservation** (**Amendment**) **Regulation**, 2025, which amends the Jammu and Kashmir Reservation Act, 2004 in Ladakh's context

Policy progress

Key events in the ongoing negotiations regarding Ladakh from 2023 to

- Jan. 3, 2023: Committee forms to address Ladakh concerns
- Nov. 30: Committee is reconstituted with new members
- March 4, 2024: Talks between govt. and Ladakh leaders collapse
- Oct. 6: Activist Sonam
 Wangchuk begins fast

- Oct. 21: Govt. agrees to resume talks, fast ends
- Dec. 3: Committee meets with Leh and Kargil leaders
- Jan. 15, 2025:
 Follow-up meeting takes
 place in Delhi
- May 27: Domicile and reservation policy is hammered out



Major demand Statehood for L for the past few

Kamaraj IAS Academy

Plot A P.127, AF block, 6 th street, 11th Main Rd, Shanthi Colony, Anna Nagar, Chennai, Tamil Nadu 600040 Phone: **044 4353 9988 / 98403 94477** / Whatsapp : **09710729833**

5th vs 6th Schedule

• The 5th Schedule of the Indian Constitution applies to the administration of Scheduled Areas and Scheduled
Tribes in states other than Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura, and Mizoram. This includes 10 states: Andhra
Pradesh, Telangana, Chhattisgarh, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Odisha,
and Rajasthan.

• The Sixth Schedule of the Constitution, under Article 244(2) and Article 275(1) of the Constitution, is provide
for the administration of tribal areas in Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura, and Mizoram.

Plot A P.127, AF block, 6 th street, 11th Main Rd, Shanthi Colony, Anna Nagar, Chennai, Tamil Nadu 600040 Phone: **044 4353 9988** / **98403 94477** / Whatsapp : **09710729833**