

Nobel Prize

Published On: 05-10-2022

Why is in news? 2022 Nobel Prize winners Alain Aspect, John Clauser and Anton Zeilinger's research on quantum mechanics

Alfred Nobel was a Swedish chemist, engineer, and industrialist most famously known for the **invention of dynamite**. He died in 1896.

In his will, he bequeathed all of his "remaining realisable assets" to be used to **establish five prizes** which became known as "Nobel Prizes." Nobel Prizes were **first awarded in 1901**.

Nobel Prizes are awarded in the fields of **Physics, Chemistry, Physiology or Medicine, Literature, and Peace** (Nobel characterized the **Peace Prize** as "to the person who has done the most or best to advance fellowship among nations, the abolition or reduction of standing armies, and the establishment and promotion of peace congresses").

In 1968, **Sveriges Riksbank (Sweden's central bank) funded the establishment** of the **Prize in Economic Sciences** in Memory of Alfred Nobel, to also be administered by the Nobel Foundation.

Nobel Prizes are widely regarded as the most prestigious awards available in their respective fields.

The prize ceremonies take place **annually**.

Each recipient (known as a "laureate") receives a gold medal, a diploma, and a monetary award. In 2021, the Nobel Prize monetary award is 10,000,000 SEK.

A prize may not be shared among more than three individuals, although the Nobel Peace Prize can be awarded to organizations of more than three people.

Although Nobel Prizes **are not awarded posthumously**, if a person is awarded a prize and dies before receiving it, the prize is presented.

The Nobel Prizes, **beginning in 1901**, and the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences, beginning in 1969, have been awarded 603 times to 962 people and 25 organizations. Four individuals and two organisations have received more than one Nobel Prize.

List of India noble prize winners:

1Rabindranath Tagore - The Nobel Prize in Literature, 1913

2CV Raman - The Nobel Prize in Physics, 1930

3Har Gobind Khorana - The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, 1968

4Mother Teresa - The Nobel Prize in Peace, 1979

5Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar – The Nobel Prize in Physics 1983

Kamaraj IAS Academy

Plot A P.127, AF block, 6 th street, 11th Main Rd, Shanthi Colony, Anna Nagar, Chennai, Tamil Nadu 600040 Phone: 044 4353 9988 / 98403 94477 / Whatsapp : 09710729833

6Amartya Sen - The Nobel Prize in Economic Studies, 1998 7Venkatraman Ramakrishnan – The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2009 8Kailash Satyarthi - The Nobel Prize in Peace, 2014

Kamaraj IAS Academy Plot A P.127, AF block, 6 th street, 11th Main Rd, Shanthi Colony, Anna Nagar, Chennai, Tamil Nadu 600040 Phone: 044 4353 9988 / 98403 94477 / Whatsapp : 09710729833