

Sessions of the Parliament

Published On: 25-12-2022

Why is in news? President Droupadi Murmu prorogues Parliament

Both the Houses of Parliament which **adjourned sine die** on Friday, have been **prorogued** by President Droupadi Murmu.

In separate statements, the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha said, the House has been prorogued.

The Rajya Sabha and the Lok Sabha were adjourned sine die six days ahead of their schedule of Winter Session which had commenced on 7th of December.

Summoning is the process of calling all members of the Parliament to meet. The **President** summons each House of the Parliament from time to time. The gap between two sessions of the Parliament cannot exceed 6 months, which means the Parliament meets at least two times in one year.

An **adjournment terminates a sitting** of the House. The House then meets again at the appointed time for the next sitting. The adjournment can be for a few hours, days or weeks, depending on the specified time.

Adjournment sine die means dismissing a sitting of Parliament for an unspecified period. In other words, when the House is suspended without naming a day for reassembly, it is known as adjournment sine die. The authority of adjournment sine die lies with the **presiding officer** of the House.

Prorogation means the **end of a session**. Prorogation implies the end of the sitting as well as the session and **not the dissolution of the House**. The **President** can prorogue the House while in session also. Generally, the President issues a notice for the session's prorogation a few days after the House is adjourned sine die by the presiding officer of the House.

Dissolution: The Lok Sabha is dissolved at the **end of its five-year term** (automatic dissolution) or by Presidential order. Dissolution terminates the life of the house. The **Rajya Sabha is not dissolved**. Its members have a fixed term of 6 years, with a third of its members up for elections every two years. Only the President can dissolve the House.