

Shanghai Cooperation Organisation

Published On: 25-08-2022

The Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) is a Eurasian political, economic and security organization. In terms of geographic scope and population.

It is the world's largest regional organization, covering approximately 60% of the area of Eurasia, 40% of the world population, and more than 30% of global GDP.

The SCO is the **successor to the Shanghai Five**, a mutual security agreement formed in 1996 between China, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, and Tajikistan.

There are **eight Member States** (China, India, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Pakistan, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan), **four Observer States** interested in acceding to full membership (Afghanistan, Belarus, Iran, and Mongolia) and **six "Dialogue Partners"** (Armenia, Azerbaijan, Cambodia, Nepal, Sri Lanka and Turkey).

Recently Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) Defence Ministers' Meeting was held in Tashkent, Uzbekistan and India will host the SCO summit next year 2023.